News 2022-06-09T15:32:46+00:00

Applications for IMPRS PhD positions are now possible

September 7th, 2022|0 Comments

We are accepting applications for PhD research contracts. The deadline is November 1st 2022. Details can be found at

Two IMPRS researchers, Laila Linke and Diana Scognamiglio, among female physicists of the week

August 29th, 2022|0 Comments

IMPRS alumna Laila Linke and IMPRS researcher Diana Scognamiglio have been highlighted by the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG), as female physicists of the week (Laila: week 12, Diana: week 35). Enjoy:

Doctoral Thesis Prize to Arshia Jacob

August 25th, 2022|0 Comments

The German Astronomical Society (AG) awards the 2022 Doctoral Thesis Prize to our IMPRS alumna Dr Arshia Maria Jacob.  In her dissertation, Arshia Jacob addressed fundamental, long-known but still largely unanswered questions about the physics and [...]

IMPRS alumna Arshia Jacob receives Otto Hahn Award

June 22nd, 2022|0 Comments

Exciting news: IMPRS alumna Arshia Jacob not only received the Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society, but in addition their prestigious Otto Hahn Award, which comes with funding for an independent research group. [...]

IMPRS Board Member Andreas Eckart receives Ernst Mach Medal

June 2nd, 2022|0 Comments

Congratulations to our IMPRS board member Prof. Andreas Eckart for being awarded the Ernst Mach Medal 2021 for Merits in the Physical Sciences by the Czech Academy of Science. Prof. Eckart is teaching at our [...]

IMPRS Alumna Arshia Jacob receives Otto Hahn Medal

May 3rd, 2022|0 Comments

IMPRS alumna Arshia Jacob has been awarded an Otto Hahn Medal for her thesis on "Small Molecules, Big Impact: Investigating hydrides in the interstellar medium". She did her thesis work in the Menten group and [...]

IMPRS alumnus Jae-Young Kim receives Otto Hahn Medal

September 23rd, 2020|0 Comments

IMPRS alumnus Dr. Jae-Young Kim received the prestigious Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society for his  Millimeter VLBI studies of the relativistic jet in the giant radio galaxy Messier 87. Congratulations!

Otto Hahn Medal awarded to IMPRS alumnus Andrew Cameron

September 23rd, 2019|0 Comments

IMPRS alumnus Andrew Cameron received the Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society for his thesis on pulsar searches.Congratulations!